Squirrel Favourites #2: The Classic

Squirrel favorites is a biweekly book review feature where I talk about the books I’ve read, reread and will be reading a couple more times – my favorites.

This week’s reread worthy book is Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I’m sure there are many who know this book or who know the author. I mean, people do call it a classic. Therefore, I don’t think I have to tell you what is this book about (but if you happen to not know – click on the book’s cover).

I think I first read P&P when I was in 10th or 11th grade (around 16), I’m not 100% sure, though. Anyways, it was the time when I was just beginning to read books in English (the first one being Twilight, I think). Don’t really know why I’m telling this, actually 😀 I’m pretty sure that before I read it I had seen the 2005 movie Pride & Prejudice, which I really liked, so I bought the book. And then I found out about the BBC series and watched those as well. I guess I was quite into Pride and Prejudice for a while. Just as I reread the book, from time to time I also rewatch both the movie and the BBC series. I just love to reread and rewatch things I’ve liked. So that’s my P&P story. Also, I’ve read/watched it so many times that I know some lines by heart. But that’s probably nothing unusual, don’t you know by heart some lines from your favorite books?

The Good
  • The silly reason of why to consider P&P cool: when reading this book, you can feel as if you’ve accomplished something, because it is considered a classic and now you can say that you’ve read a classic. Can be all intelligent and so on. I mean, people who read classics are supposedly cool, smart etc. Therefore, you get some bragging rights after reading this book. The especially cool part – this is no ‘heavy reading’ therefore you get your bragging rights without killing your mind with a giant page count in a hard-to-understand language (not I have a problem with big books, just trying to maybe persuade someone to read).
  • I love the language. While at first I didn’t understand some things, like fortnight (hey, I’m not a native speaker and I was around 16 when first reading it), the dialogue is so nice and witty. I guess it’s just the time period that makes it so likeable. Of course, most probably the book shows Regency from the brightest side, but fiction does not always have to be 100% realistic.
  • The characters are likeable and funny. And every one of them has at least one characteristic that defines them and that reflects on their actions. I suppose then that they can be called strong, well-made characters (I typically don’t dwell much character quality, but, hey, I have to say something more than just ‘I love the book’). Oh, Elizabeth Bennet. Obviously, I really liked her. And I like Mr. and Mrs. Bennet, those two are just so hilarious and silly and not the best example of a happy marriage, but that’s okay, look at it as an opportunity to learn something. You also see the characters grow. Honestly, that is what the book is mostly about, I guess, growing out of your prejudices, changing yourself for the better.
  • There’s love. And love that is not the so called insta-love, if you don’t like that. For a large part of the book, Lizzie (Elizabeth), the main heroine, actually kind of  hates the man she’ll end up with.
The Bad
  • Sorry, won’t be anything bad from me here. I just can’t come up with anything. Probably, there is something, but I don’t see any problems with Pride and Prejudice.
Squirrel

As you can see, I really love this book. There’s just not much more to say. It’s funny, there’s love, loveable characters, it’s entertaining. What more do you need? Therefore 5 nuts to Pride and Prejudice from Squirrel.

5nuts

And while I am a fan of P&P, I’m always open to hearing other opinions on it. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Squirrel Favourites #2: The Classic

Speak up

