The Nine-month Read AKA City of Bones

CityofBonesBook: City of Bones

Series:Β The Mortal Instruments (#1)

Author: Cassandra Clare

Links:Β Amazon and Book Depository
For Goodreads, click the cover.

The Ramble

What a relief! I finally finished it. I started reading it last year in April or May, I think. Well, some time after the movie came out, since, when it was available online, I watched it with my Boyfriend and it was fun. It was cheesy and kind of silly, but still fun. So I googled more about the book and decided to try it out. Sometimes I like to check out books I’ve watched πŸ˜€ Like, after seeing Outlander (the TV show) mentioned a bunch of times and watching that video in this post by kiltsandswords, I decided to check it out. And watched all 8 available episodes in one day. Obviously, I liked it. Now I’m also slowly reading the book. With City of Bones it was similar. Except that I just couldn’t get into it. I read some of it in that (last years’) April or May, then revisited the book in September, I think. And then at some moment again, and it still went soo slow. But finally I pushed myself to finish it. It sitting on my Goodreads Currently Reading shelf for so long was starting to bother me and I need to catch up to my 2015 Reading Challenge (it says I’m 3 books behind, oh no!). So I pepped myself up and got to it.

The Good

Jeez, I don’t even know what good I could say. Not that I want to say the book was bad (there are people who like and love this book and I’m not and won’t be bashing them, but my opinion is my opinion), but there aren’t that many things that pop out as particularly cool and noteworthy. And the fact that half of the book was read some time ago doesn’t particularly help either (and at that time I wasn’t yet planning on having a blog and writing reviews).

Chapter 21 was pretty cool. Maybe because it wasn’t in Clary’s voice, because she kind of started to get on my nerves during the last leg of my long reading journey, which would be, I think, the last 30-40% of the book. And it was interesting one, I liked Luke’s story. Another thing, I don’t remember anything of that chapter really appearing in the movie, so that also might be a factor why I found it so enjoyable – it really gave something to the story for me.

There also were some funny moments, especially various things Jace said. All that ‘Jace-only-loves-Jace’ jazz.

The Bad

Some things mentioned here might not be exactly bad, but they definitely seemed weird, they jumped out to me as something off. And they felt like a drawback to the book, therefore, they go into the ‘bad’ category. They also might feel like nitpicking and I’m quite aware of it πŸ˜€ It’s just that when reading the last part till finishing the book, I payed more attention to everything that I liked or didn’t like, was collecting my impressions for review etc.

  • Is it just me or does the underlined part sound awkward: “through the broken pane streamed sunlight, quantities of sunlight“?
  • Clary saying ‘spectacles’ not ‘glasses’, just seems weird that fifteen-year-old says spectacles, I mean, who really actually says that? πŸ˜€ Hmm, okay, just ‘ctrl+F – ed’ through the book and it seems Clary only uses ‘spectacles’ when talking about Luke, and at least once she says ‘glasses’ about Luke, while, when talking about Simon, there seems to be only ‘glasses’. So yeah, just a kind of a weird thing in my mind, not particularly bad or anything, just… Yeah πŸ˜€
  • This (emphasis on the underlined part):

The pack began to move toward her and Luke; as they neared, they dropped to all fours, lips snarling back from their lengthening fangs, limbs extending into long, furred extremities, clothes overgrown by fur.

I haven’t read that many books featuring werewolves and it kind of doesn’t matter that much, but, in my eyes, that phrase is saying, that nothing happens to the clothes when you turn into a werewolf, which just seems weird/impossible/unrealistic (not that werewolves as such are SO realistic, lol). Even Twilight’s werewolves ripped their clothes apart when transforming and everyone loves to hate Twilight, but at least that point is a nice and realistic touch.

  • “narrow edge of his tone” – most probably nitpicking, but, umm, how does a narrow edge to voice tone works exactly? (such wow, much nitpick)
  • “prevarication” – umm, huh? I’m 22 and I didn’t know the meaning of the word right off the bat (gotta add, though, that I’m not a native speaker, so, I suppose, that should be taken into consideration), I just got the sense of it, so yeah.. A 15-year-old using that word – I don’t think so. Not that a 15-year-old couldn’t know fancy words, I guess, but do teenagers really use fancy words in their thoughts?
  • And it also kind of bothered me that Clary is 15. Sometimes here actions just seemed too grown-up for a 15-year-old, but maybe that is just me putting grown-up teenagers down. But I think I often feel this way about main characters-teenagers who do ‘big things’, e.g., Kira in Partials by Dan Wells, is said to be 16, and in my mind that age just didn’t want to go together with her actions. I guess I want teenagers in books to act like stereotypical teenagers or something.
  • But the greatest drawback was the fact, that the book just read so slow for me. I couldn’t get into it. But you can’t really blame the book, it’s me. Obviously, it isn’t really my kind of book.
Squirrel

Overall, it was okay, but it didn’t click with me. The movie kind of did, the book – not really. I guess that in some ways it was ‘meh’, just like Life Blood: Cora’s Choice by V.M. Black, although the books as such aren’t particularly similar.

The premise and overall plot was interesting, it’s just that in the book things felt mmm uninteresting, I guess. The book didn’t really excite me, I wasn’t drawn in. But the movie was fun. So there’s that.

WebBecause I did finish the book and it could have been interesting (and was at some moments), and it had some funny moments, City of Bones receives 1 nut from Squirrel.

P.S. I probably won’t be reading the sequels, but, if they ever decide to make that movie sequel, count me in on that. πŸ˜‰

Sorry, fans πŸ˜€

10 thoughts on “The Nine-month Read AKA City of Bones

  1. I had a really hard time getting into this series as well. I liked the concept of the story and the characters so much that I wanted to keep going but NOT read them. Haha

    I read them a while ago but I think I read the first one and switched to audio for the rest. I enjoyed them as audio books! Ed Westwick from the TV Gossip Girl is Jace. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Oh, yes, overall everything is interesting, but the book, or reading it, somehow just isn’t that interesting. The last few chapters I was mostly pushing myself to just finish it.
      Mmm, that sounds like a nice option. I do like some Chuck Bass, you know. Though I’ve only seen some random episodes of Gossip Girl, but that guy did leave an impression πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a huge Cassandra Clare fan, but it was really interesting reading your thoughts! If you ever decide to give Clare another try, maybe you’ll like here other series, The Infernal Devices, better. I’ve had a lot of friends enjoy that one a lot when they couldn’t get into TMI.

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment. It is nice to see that a fan has no problem with someone with a differing opinion πŸ™‚
      Currently, I am not planning on continuing TMI or anything else by C. Clare, but who knows. I might just want to know what happens in greater detail than Wikipedia etc. provides πŸ˜€
      Actually, I think that I heard about The Infernal Devices even before I knew about City of Bones/TMI, that is, I saw somewhere (a bookstore, probably?) the first book of that series and thought that it might be interesting, but never read it. And only after watching the City of Bones movie and reading more about the books did I really make the connection between both series.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Of course! I hate it when I see people contradicting and arguing because of conflicting opinions. Our diverse opinions makes this world awesome. Plus, I always enjoy reading different views especially on things I loved. And I actually refuse to watch City of Bones, I’ve heard it’s not that great for even people that enjoyed the series. And you should really give The Infernal Devices a try, you may like it!

        Like

  3. I thought the movie was fun enough but I also couldn’t get into the book. Granted, I hated it so much in the first chapter or two that I immediately gave up… I think I must have been in a bad mood because I usually give books a bigger chance. I still keep thinking I should try again and give it a fair read this time around.

    Like

    • I guess the beginning wasn’t bad for me, if I got to the middle of the book, but I don’t actually remember anymore. But later it did get harder to get through. Feels nice to be done with it – isn’t sitting on that currently reading shelf and taunting me, lol.
      Now, after Tangled Taurus’ comment that Ed Westwick has narrated the audiobook, I’ve looked that up. Though it turns out, that he has narrated only City of Fallen Angels (Book 4), but together with Molly C. Quinn (Castle’s daughter in Castle). So there’s that. I might push myself through Books 2 and 3 maybe just to listen to that one πŸ˜€ Not sure yet. But probably yeah.

      Like

Speak up

