Feature and Follow Friday #2 (#250)

FnFFNow that I’m back from my Bachelor’s thesis/paper writing (the draft is done and the ‘preliminary defense’ is out of the way, too), I can breathe and blog a bit. So why not check in with F&F Friday again, even though, technically, for me, Friday has been over for half an hour. 🙂

So here’s the deal. Feature and Follow Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Parajunkee and Alison. It is a blog hop that gives bloggers the opportunity to meet some people and get new followers. Every week, each host has a featured blogger who answers a couple of questions. There is also a weekly question that every participant can/should answer.

And this week’s question is: How did you come up with your blog title and address? Does it have a special meaning for you?

My blog address is ‘squirrelstuff’, because when I was registering for WordPress, I didn’t yet have an exact title for my blog, but I had the idea of having squirrel in it, therefore ‘squirrelstuff’ seemed to be okay for that.

Since I wanted it to be a book blog, the blog title had to have something about books or reading in it. One of the possibilities was Squirrel Reads, but something didn’t work in it for me, I guess. And using the address as the blog title, well, I thought that title would sound too broad for bookishness. Then I somehow came up the the ‘reading guide’ part through some variants (don’t remember them, though). And then it occurred to me (or I was inspired by some blog post, don’t really know anymore, probably both) that I could/should add something more descriptive of me and laziness somehow felt the definitive description of me at the time. Can’t say much has changed, in a way 😀

As for the squirrel part, at some moment during the first months of dating, my Boyfriend started to call me Squirrel. Well, I remember there were some weird texting one day during lunch break on the topic of squirrels and what not and somehow it evolved to me being called Squirrel. And so it stuck. At the beginning though, the nickname was in Latvian, now it’s kinda both. And some deviations of it, for example, ‘Skvivs’, sort of ‘Latvianized’ and shortened Squirrel, but now I’m digressing from the main point. So. I’m Squirrel. And lazy. And this is my reading guide. But the guide and my laziness are not connected, that is, it is not to be understood as me reading lazily or being a guide for lazy readers, or something 😀 Oh, wow, this was long.

If you’ve hopped here and would like to follow my blog, you can do that using any of the options available on the left sidebar (upper part). Use whichever option you like the best.

Thanks for stopping by!

P.S. If you want to see other blogs participating in this meme, hop on to either host’s site, they’ll have the Linky embedded on their sites. I can’t do that, since I’m a poor wordpress.com user, lol.

4 thoughts on “Feature and Follow Friday #2 (#250)

  1. I love your name! It’s definitely unique and I adore squirrels. It’s totally cute how you combined your nickname and love of reading. I especially like your throwing of laziness into the mix because I can be pretty lazy too sometimes! 😀

    Old follower!
    My FF!

    Like

Speak up

