Review: Throne of Glass by S. J. Maas

ThroneofGlass_SJMaas Title: Throne of Glass
 Series: Throne of Glass #1
 Author: S. J. Maas
 Rating: 5/5

I caved to the hype and bought Throne of Glass at the end of April. I received it in the  beginning of May. And now I’ve finally gotten myself to the point of typing up the review  for it. Go me!  😀

First off, some silly notes from a gamer (on occasion, you can find me playing a bunch of PC games) and reader of various books. I had a giggle at Chaol. I mean, his last name is Westfall, which, coincidentally, is also the name of a region in World of Warcraft. The map of Erilea also gave me some giggles. Two names stood out for me, Morla and Melisande. Morla, because it looked a lot like Moria, but Melisande – for the ‘red witch’ Melisandre from A Song of Ice and Fire/Game of Thrones. Also, Rifthold got me smiling, because ESO (Elder Scrolls Online and Elder Scrolls games altogether) has a region Rift and city Riften. So I saw some probably unintented nods to other things I like.

There’s also the case of League of Legends similarity on the cover, as pointed out by my BF, who said that the girl on the cover looks a lot like Katarina. Not that any of these nods or similarities matter. I just find them fun and interesting, therefore I’m pointing them out.

Celaena is pretty cool. And badass. Obviously. What else can you expect from an assassin? But who would expect an assassin to also be a bookworm who really loves cake and candy. It seemed so hilarious and endearing, and gave more character to the girl. But her name. Oh, my! It’s Daenerys all over again. Except for the fact that S. J. Maas has provided a pronunciation guide for a bunch of names in the series, therefore it is not such a mystery after all (it’s just that I found the guide after I read the book :D).

Throne-of-Glass

Another nice touch was the fact the Celaena had her period return. I don’t know what it is about me, but I sometimes want to know, how the girls in various books and worlds deal with being women. And this book kind of had it. At least it didn’t shy away from that fun part of a female’s life. And in a way that totally made sense, because it happened how it tends to really happen. Basically, this book earned a plus just by having Celaena have her period. Silly, but oh well.

There was some creepiness. Which I actually liked. I mean, there was a moment where it seemed quite disturbing, especially because I was reading late, I guess. I think it was the part where Celaena finds the passage and also the signs under her bed.

On the two main guys. I’m definitely going with Chaol. Dorian’s not bad, but something about him just… I don’t know, at times I felt off about him, at other times I liked him. I don’t know. But Chaol, well, he’s cool. No weird off-feeling about him. Though I’d like to know more about him. I guess I should order the next book in the series, haha.

There’s action, there’s fun and jokes. And cake and sweets. A mystery and some creepiness. It flowed nicely. It read fast and I want to know more (even though I’ve read some spoilery things and know some stuff about later, but I don’t know HOW anything happens, so that’s not a problem). Throne of Glass gets 5 nuts.

5nuts

Following the hype of this book and series is definitely worth it. And it also seems re-read worthy, I’m pretty sure I’ll be re-reading it sooner or later.

What did you think of Throne of Glass?

2 thoughts on “Review: Throne of Glass by S. J. Maas

  1. Yay! I just caved in to the hype too and bought my first Maas book, A Court of Thorns and Roses. Then I went crazy and got all of her other stuff! LOL! I’m really glad you enjoyed Throne of Glass; I feel better about buying so many books without reading the first one yet! Happy reading! 🙂

    Like

    • A Court of Thorns and Roses is on my “gotta get my hands/eyes on this book” list. I’ve read so much good stuff about it. Just like about Throne of Glass. Now just gotta get some money for all the books I want. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Speak up

