Review: Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

Welcome back, readers and me! I’ve finally gathered the courage (that is, overcome my laziness) and found a moment to write something here. I’ve been busy – work, school. Just blah. Life, basically. But I’m still here, so don’t get scared off by my bouts of silence.

Off to today’s topic, which is Lauren Oliver’s Vanishing Girls.

vanishing-girls_lauren-oliver_coverTitle: Vanishing Girls
Author: Lauren Oliver
Rating: 2/5 nuts

Hmmm. Well, what can be said about Vanishing Girls? Judging from my sparse notes, it didn’t do too much for me. But I have noted down three things:

  1. P.157 Dara at the restaurant — not sure what that means exactly. Probably there was something hilarious or weird. Yeah, I think it was a dinner for Nick, Dara, their father and girlfriend. Or the fourth person wasn’t Nick, but father’s girlfriend’s daughter or something. I think it was that. And, as far as I can remember (I’m slow with writing reviews, I read Vanishing Girls in the Summer), there was some funny dialogue.
  2. Sergei’s – an Italian place, hilarious — well, this note is easier to decipher. I found it hilarious that an Italian restaurant is called Sergei’s, because, you know, as far as I know, Sergei is a Russian name. Of course, restaurants can be named in whatever way regardless of their cuisine, but it just seemed so funny to name an Italian place with a Russian name. But maybe I’m wrong. Or weird. Or something. 😀
  3. Parker’s shirt ‘make love not horcruxes’ — Obviously, I just had to note down the coolness of Parker and his shirt. For obvious reasons. It’s so cool when authors reference the work of other authors. Or when one author’s work is real in another, as in this case – Parker knows about Harry Potter, has read it and so on. I mean, how cool and cute is that?

vanishing-girls-lauren-oliver-cover-pic

I think there’s one thing that kind of ruined the experience for me, and it’s that comment on the book’s cover. It’s just that that blurb and from that author. Well, you start making guesses, you start having ideas. Some things can get ruined by that. And I also noticed the text in the book, where it says the publisher, the year, all that stuff, and in the lower part of that page it says that it’s such and such genre, such and such categories, such and such topics, e.g. Fiction, Romance, Vampires, Family etc. Naturally, those aren’t the things written there. But don’t go checking, if you haven’t read the book yet. It might give you spoilery ideas.

Overall, it’s not a bad book. You could probably call it a good book, but my experience of it was a bit… Unfortunate? It’s just that some things were predictable, somethings were to be expected, because I was spoiled a bit, both by myself and by the blurb on the cover (not that it says that much, but…). And I guess I expected something more, or something different. It wasn’t bad, it was nice and okay, it was quite enjoyable and the reading went along quite well, at least for me. But there was something lacking. I wanted more from, more enjoyment, intrigue. And that is why it gets 2 nuts. I guess I’d give it 2.5 if I had half nuts, but I don’t. 😀

Web

What did you think of Vanishing Girls?

One thought on “Review: Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

  1. That’s what most reviews I read on GR mentioned- the book was too predictable… I have this on my shelf but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. Shame really, I loved her Delirium series.

    Like

Speak up

