Review: Paper Towns by John Green

Paper-Towns-coverTitle: Paper Towns
Author: John Green
Rating: 3/5 nuts

I read Paper Town last year. Sometime during Summer, I think. So this is a very timely review (there will other timely ones, too, though). But a review’s a review. It can still matter.

All in all, the book was fun. The characters – not so much, at least not Margo. I, for the life of me, couldn’t understand why Q was into her. Thankfully, later on Margo gets more personality, but still, to me her actions seem weird and off. But maybe that’s because I’m more like Q, I believe in college, job, family etc. I just don’t really get why she left. The reason is sort of there but it is also quite obscure in my opinion. I just needed/hoped for a more realistic/understandable reason, like, parents annoyed her. Although it’s all sort of there as a sub-reason. I don’t know, that just wasn’t satisfying for me.

On the very thoughtful passages that Green is sort of famous for. I mean, the teenage thoughtfulness is present in all the books I’ve read by John Green. Well, they’re nice and all. And sort of true I suppose. But that’s not what I look for in books, I think. It feels kind of tedious. And such thoughts coming from teenagers… I have a slight disbelief in teenagers thinking about life in metaphors and shit. Even though they sort of are not teenagers anymore, maybe, theoretically, given that M is 18. But… The thoughtful parts annoyed me more than made me think, even though they are somewhat truthful.

The ending. Aaah. I might have found it to be a bit of a letdown. Not that I had some certain expectations, I don’t think I had… Well, I didn’t particulary like it, but it fit the story and the characters’ personalities.

Of course, there’s humour in this one. I don’t remember who, but someone said “honeybunnies” on a regular basis, when talking about girls. And there were other silly phrases, things said. I’d say John Green can write some very nice hilarious moments (remeber the swan ass biting in Looking for Alaska? )Here’s something silly from this one, though Id on’t remember anything about the situation:

I look like a demented carbonated fountain.

Another thing that caught my eye (or mind, or something) was the bits of cipocrisy in Q. Like, he was so pissed at his friends for doing their thing and not listening to his obsession about Margo, while he himself can’t pay attention to the guys because he’s so obsessed with Margo and his own thing. As cruel or brutal that might seem, that is some nice and pretty realistic hypocrisy, in my opinion.

paper-towns-john-green-cover-pic

Overall, the friends were the best. By that I mean that friendship was the best part of this book. The fun moments were nice, too. The story as such wasn’t bad either, but somehow it felt lacking. Just as the characters, mainly Margo. I was quite likeable, I did enjoy parts of it, but, for me, the book just wasn’t that great. Therefore I give 3 nuts to Paper Towns. It’s not that great, but it’s quite good, it is worth reading, but don’t rush out to get all the copies of it.

Web

What were your thought on Paper Town? How did the movie( which my Sis has seen, but I have yet to watch it) compare to it?

 

5 thoughts on “Review: Paper Towns by John Green

  1. I’ve only read one of Green’s books (An Abundance of Katherines) and I’m honestly really hesitant to try his other books because of the MASSIVE hype surrounding them. (Lookin’ at you, Fault in our Stars.) I haven’t watched the movie, but just hearing about Margo just makes me go “… Ehhhhhh?”

    I love road trip books, but I just don’t think this one’s for me. 😮

    Like

    • I guess the road trip part was the best of it all.
      I’ve managed to watch the movie now, but I wasn’t a fan of it. Something about Margo’s actress, Cara, just disturbs me, and I can’t even say what. And, as a movie, Paper Towns seems very slow and, to me, the ending just doesn’t translate well to the screen. It felt as if nothing happened and the re was no point to all that happened. Even though that’s pretty much what happened. 😀 Call me unimpressed by Paper Towns, the movie.

      Like

  2. This is my least favorite John Green book 😦 For me, the whole book went nowhere and like you said, the friendship was the only good thing in the book. And it was kind of funny too….

    Like

Speak up

