Bookish Bingo: Holiday 2015 Results

Hello, bookish people!

I’ve been a bit silent again, sorry. But I really hope to get better, be better at posting things. School is just really getting me down. I’m considering ditching it, it just doesn’t seem worth it. Out of the, like, the 10 different classes I have this semester, only one is on translation (and it’s just some history thing and it hasn’t started yet) and another that is somewhat useful – editing, but it’s also so-so. And then there’s the unlikeable ones, like, literary criticism – feminism, post-colonialism. Oh, and the paradigm of post-modern literature (that is, like, pretty much the name of that class, and it’s bleh). I’m not really that interested in literary theory and fancy literary criticism. It might be useful, it’s probably not bad, but I don’t feel like it’s for me. I don’t see how it can really benefit me in my dreams of literary translation. Overall, I just really feel like there are better uses of my time. Umm, okay. That was slightly off topic.

Let’ get back on track. So, at the end of November/beginning of December I found this Bookish Bingo by Bekka at Pretty Deadly Reviews and I signed up. Somehow I’m pretty sure I managed not to mention it anywhere. But the time to complete the bingo card has gone by and I’ve managed to get one bingo. Wooo! Here’s the card and how I did.

winter-bingo_done.jpg

Multi POV: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey – GR
Series Finale: Winter by Marissa Meyer – GR
Fantasy: Crown of Midnight by S. J. Maas – GR
Epistolary: Illuminae by Amy Kaufman and Jay Kristoff – GR
2015 Release: A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab – GR
One-Word Title: Totēmi by Laima Muktupāvela – GR
Retelling: Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige – GR
Blue Cover: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard – GR
Start A New Series: Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy – GR

It looks quite good until you remember that the challenge span three months – December, January and February. Which means 9 books in three months. Well, it’s still not that bad, I guess. It was fun trying to fit the books I read on the squares. I mean, I didn’t make a special TBR to fill out the card. I just read what I wanted and then tried to fit it in somewhere. Although I did push for Truthwitch when I saw that finishing it would let me get a bingo. 😀

I’d say  I did quite well for a first timer. 😀

Have you participated in any bookish bingo challenges? How did you fare?

Speak up

