The Sis Reviews: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Four words – what was she thinking?! And by she I mean Cassandra Clare.

DSCN0947City of Bones is about a fifteen year old girl Clary, who discovers that she is a Shadowhunter and is looking her mother, who got kidnapped by Valentine – the bad guy. The Shadowhunters hunt demons (the demons look really good in the movie, of course, they can’t beat orcs, because they are the most coolest looking things in the whole universe). 😀 And they (Shadowhunters) wear black clothes.

It means ‘Shadowhunters: Looking Better in Black Than the Widows of our Enemies Since 1234.’

The book was good. But I can’t say that I enjoyed it, it wasn’t “OMG I can’t put this book down”.

I liked Jace. I liked those stupid, rude jokes he made. 🙂

“What are all these?” Clary asked.
“Vials of holy water, blessed knives, steel and silver blades,” Jace said, piling the weapons on the floor beside him, “..charms of protection, crucifixes, stars of David—”
“Jesus,” said Clary.
“I doubt he’d fit.”

I liked that he is in love with himself 😀 and is sassy.

“Unfortunately, Lady of the Haven, my one true love remains myself.”
“At least,” she said, “you don’t have to worry about rejection, Jace Wayland.”
“Not necessarily. I turn myself down occasionally, just to keep it interesting.”

scale
Hotness scale. 😀

Well Clary was okay. There is nothing that I really liked or disliked about her. Maybe the fact that she is too gentle and just couldn’t say to Simon “No, I like Jace.” and that she is soo blind and couldn’t see that he’s in love with her. 😒 Not that I’m on team Simon. I’m totally on team Jace. 🙂

But then came the chapter Valentine that ruined the whole book for me. My brain almost exploded, because I understood nothing. All the time I thought “it’s not true”, “it can’t be”, “please tell me he’s lying”, and then I wanted to hit Jace with a shovel so he shuts up. The book almost flew out of the window, which was actually open at that time. 😀 I finished the book, I don’t think I want to continue reading next parts.

City of Bones gets two nuts from me. Dita has also read and reviewed City of Bones, but she gave it just one nut.

Web

Next week Vampire Academy 5 – Spirit Bound – by Richelle Mead. And probably 6th book too – Last Sacrifice. Finally got my hands on these books. 🙂 🎉

Have you read City of Bones? What did you think about it? Should I keep reading the series?

4 thoughts on “The Sis Reviews: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Speak up

