Monthly Wrap-Up: March 2016

Sis suggested I should renew the tradition of making monthly wrap-ups. I was kind of considering it, too. So here we go. Let’s look back at March.

Posts

March began with the first anniversary of A Lazy Squirrel’s Reading Guide. To commemorate that, there’s a giveaway, where you can win up to 12 EUR worth of books from TBD, therefore the giveaway is international, as long as TBD ships to your country. There’s still three days left to enter it.

And as a blogoversary surprise to even myself, Sis decided to join me on the blogging front, so there have been reviews posted this month.

Sis posts her reviews on Wednesdays and March was pretty much all bout her love for the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead. Sis has reviewed the first two books in the series – Vampire Academy and Frostbite. The next two books – Shadow Kiss and Blood Promise – received their love in another post, while a third post was devoted to Spirit Bound and Last Sacrifice, the last two books in the series. Suffice it to say, that Sis is absolutely in love with the books and Dimitri Belikov.

In between the love for Vampire Academy, Paula also reviewed After The Ending by L. Fairleigh and L. Pogue – which actually was her first post/review – and City of Bones by Cassandra Clare.

Sis also dipped her toes into book spine poetry.

Basically, in March you’ve seen a lot of Paula and not enough of me. But finally that should change. I’ve freed up some time and mental space by dropping out of  my Masters Studies, which didn’t go as I hoped they will. So I should be able to do more blogging stuff now that studies aren’t hogging stupid amounts of my time. Now there’s just the library work and translation work, which I’ve started to get a bit more of, but that’s nice. Can afford more books, you know. 🙂

Read in March: Dita

ReadinMarch

During March, I finished the The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig. It was available in the Read Now category of Netgalley. I also finished Ink and Bone by Rachel Cane. And, yes, it’s not in the picture, because I totally forgot about reading the book during March. 😀

And then I also started and finished The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon and A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab. Those two were some great books. And then yesterday I discovered that The Bone Season is now available in Latvian, so that was a slight surprise. I guess I should start getting into translating some books or someone will do it before me, lol.

March Book Haul

Physical Copies

BoughtinMarch

My physical TBR keeps on growing. There’s like 8 unread paperbacks beside my bed and a couple more on Sis’ shelf. So there are at least 10 recently (like, in the last 3-6 months) bought books that I haven’t read yet. It might not seem much in comparison to other people’s TBRs, but, for me, that’s a lot of unread books that are actually mine (or Sis’).

During March I ordered and received A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab, Legend by Marie Lu, The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater, The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski and Stars Above by Marissa Meyer. Well, Stars Above actually arrived on April 1, but I ordered it in March and almost received it in March, so… 😀

E-books

And then there’s a bunch of Kindle books I’ve bought. You know, it’s hard to resist them when they’re under 3.99 😀 (Okay, for me they tend to be a bit more, e.g. 1.99 books are actually 2.41, because some tax is applied on top of the price, but whatevs, it’s still quite cheap). So my under-3.99 Kindle acquisitions of March are:
Succubus Blues by Richelle Mead
Never Never by Brianna Schrum
Pivot Point by Kasie West
The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows
The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh
Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson
From a Distant Star by Karen McQuestion

Audiobooks

In the middle of March I also decided to try Audible, since Amazon was basically rubbing it in my face with its 2 free credits. So I went for it. We’ll see how it goes. Currently I’ve spent only one of the two credits. I decided to go for Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare. I wasn’t too impressed by her The Mortal Instruments series – from which I’ve read a book and a half. But the world is kind of intriguing and Lady Midnight sounded interesting. AND the audiobook is narrated by Morena Baccarin, which somehow matters, but I’m not entirely sure why. I like the actress, I guess? Maybe? Not that I’ve seen much of her, lol. Anyway, I’m two chapters in – I should listen to it more often – and so far so good.

Dita’s April TBR

AprilTBR

I typically don’t plan my monthly TBRs, I just read whatever I have on hand/whatever I feel like, but I decided to make a tentative one. The Winner’s Kiss is obviously on it and I’m already 100+ pages in. Then I definitely want to read Stars Above. I mean, it has to be read ASAP. The wedding story! I’ve had Red Queen since December, so it’d be nice to finally read it, although I’m almost afraid to read it, as I’ve seen so many negative reviews of it. And I’m really intrigued by everyone’s love for The Raven Boys, so I maybe I can manage to read it during April. If all goes well, a Kindle book or two could also be read. I mean, I have around 50 freebies on it and now also at least 10 books that I’ve bought. Something has to be done about it.

Read in March: Sis

Thank god there’s Goodreads, because I have no idea how many books I’ve read in March.:D And, according to Goodreads, I have read NINE books. WOW! 😀

TBR...
Shadow Kiss, Blood Promise and City of Bones are back in library. 🙂

Delirium and Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver.
Vampire Academy, Frostbite, Shadow Kiss, Blood Promise, Spirit Bound and Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead.
City of Bones by Cassandra Clare.

Sis’ April TBR

TBR

Well this is my April TBR. Requiem by Lauren Oliver. I’m on page 44. Also I thought that I could read Percy Jackson and the Olympians so I went to library and got The Lightning Thief (on page 185) and The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordian. The Red Pyramid also by Rick Riordian. As you can see, there’s also City of Ashes and City of Glass by Cassandra Clare. Somehow, I ended up wanting to read them.:D I started reading City of Ashes – nothing is happening – page 62. 😦 But OMG have you seen Malec episode in Shadowhunters?! Aww!☺

And I only need to read three of these to finish my Goodeads challenge – 15 books. 🙂

Oh, and I have already finished Legend by Marie Lu. Maybe there will be a review. 🙂

Dita and Sis

What books did you buy and read during March? What do you plan to read during April?

3 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: March 2016

  1. Yay for The Raven Boys! It’s the perfect time to start the series. I’m hoping to read The Raven King this month. I’m reading A Gathering of Shadows right now and I’m loving it! It’s turning out to be a great sequel. 🙂

    Like

    • I loved how A Gathering of Shadows is just as everyone says. Everything’s all nice and well, there’s the Essen Tasch with it’s impostors and fun, there’s this and that. Then there’s the occasional White London chapter that is slightly ominous. And then, suddenly, it’s not fun and games at all. Like, you could argue that nothing happens for more than half of the book, but it still is amazing. So many brotherly moments, so many giggles about Lila getting hilarious remarks from Calla (I think her name was Calla, you know, the shopkeeper) about Kell. It’s really great.
      Yeah, I guess it’s really a great time to start The Raven Cycle, the last book is about to come out, so if I get into the series, there’s no awful wait until publication of the next book. There’s just the wait until the next book gets shipped and arrives, which is not as bad, but still can be torturous. 😀

      Like

Speak up

