Monthly Wrap-Up: April 2016

Bye, April! Hello, May! Let’s see what we’ve achieved during April.

Read in April: Sis

This month I have read seven books.

paula
Here are only four books. The rest of them are back at the library.

Legend by Marie Lu. I have already written a review for it. You can find it here.
The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan.
City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare. You can find the review here.
The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey. There will be a review about Infinite Sea and 5th wave this Wednesday. 🙂
City of Glass by Cassandra Clare. On Wednesday there will be two reviews, because I lazy-assed last week. 😀
Somehow I ended up reading The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski. Don’t know if I will write a review, but I can say that it was meh for me. Sorry fans (Dita). 😀
Marked by P. C. Cast and Kristin Cast.

This month I have also managed to review I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore.

Read in April: Dita

read-in-Apr2016-D

In April, I read all the paperbacks I’d put on my TBR for April, which included The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski, Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater, and Stars Above by Marissa Meyer. What I did not do was finish any books on my Kindle, which I said would be a good thing to do in April. Although I did read a bit from one book. Well, I’ll hold on to this thought in May, as well, and hope it goes better.

While I haven’t yet reviewed any of the books I read in April, I did post my review of The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski. Yay for me posting a review in quite a while. And then not posting any more.

But hey, there’s a reason for that. In the middle of April, me and BF got a flat, we’ll finally be moving in together. So some time went into the cleaning of the place, which was quite stinky and sticky after its last inhabitants. On Friday, we’ll finally get the Internet set up there, so Friday and/or Saturday should also be moving day. Can’t wait to get a new shelf for the place, lol.

April Book Haul

During April, we’ve managed to buy two paperbacks. Only two! Of course, we’re discounting Dita’s pre-orders of Nevernight by Jay Kristoff and A Court of Mist and Fury by S. J. Maas, because they aren’t here yet.

The two books we got in April are Prodigy by Marie Lu, and The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey.

book-haul-april2016.jpg

Dita also bought some Kindle books, because sometimes they’re just too hard to resist, when they’re for the right price (and you’ve really been wanting to get them at some point or they’re free):
Frey by Melissa Wright – it’s still a freebie on Amazon
Shattered Blue by Lauren Bird Horowitz
Storm Siren by Mary Weber
Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Red Rising by Pierce Brown
Travel Glasses by Chess Desalls – you can still get it for 0.99 on Amazon
The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner – you can still get it for 1.99 on Amazon
Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff
Amazon links aren’t affiliate. Just pointing you towards some discounted books that are still discounted. 🙂

Sis’ TBR

Well my TBR is quite small. 😦 At home, there are like 30 books that I could read, but meh I don’t want to read them. 😀 Instead I go to the library and get books from there.

paulatbr So here you can see Prodigy by Marie Lu and the Latvian translations of Divergent, Insurgent and Allegiant by Veronica Roth. Also I want to get Me Before You by Jojo Moyes from the library. Judging by the movie trailer, I expect there could be lot of crying. 😀

Dita’s TBR

And here’s my tentative May TBR, slightly photobombed by Batman, who decided that she wants to know what I’m doing there. And then Winky arrived and they played/fought. Luckily, that didn’t happen beside the books.

May2016-TBR-D.jpg

I’m pretty sure I won’t read all of these books, but I’m selecting all of them to give myself some leeway – if I like one series, I can continue it with the next books or move on to another series. Pictured there we have the Latvian translations of Delirium by Lauren Oliver, Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead, and Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater. There’s also Legend and Prodigy by Marie Lu. Kindle is there, as I hope to maybe at least one of the ~100 books I’ve got on it this month (after my failure to do so in April). And A Court of Thorns and Roses is there as a stand-in for A Court of Mist and Fury, which, hopefully, will be in my hands next week (today I got the e-mail about my pre-order being shipped so, yay, ACOMAF is on its way to me). Basically, I’m 100% sure I’ll read and finish ACOMAF this month, we’ll have to see how it goes with the other books.

P.S. You can find me, Paula, on Twitter now – @Mighty_Sis! 🙂

Paula & Dita

One thought on “Monthly Wrap-Up: April 2016

Speak up

