Monthly Wrap-Up: May 2016

Bye, May! Hello, June! It’s time for hotness and Dita’s birthday, which is at the end of June!

Read in May: Sis

This month I had a little reading slump. There was a week I wanted to read something, but I “didn’t have” anything to read and, at the same time, I didn’t want to read. 😀 But, anyway, I have read five books in May.

Betrayed by P. C. Cast
Divergent by Veronica Roth
Insurgent by Veronica Roth
Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
The Selection by Kiera Cass

I feel so bad that I have only reviewed two books this month. 😦 Shame! (ding, ding) 😀 So I have reviewed City of Glass and The 5th Wave. But I promise that during Summer I will be more active, ’cause no school. Yeey!! And I have something new for you coming next Thursday. 👌

Read in May: Dita

Dita-read-in-May2016

May was a not bad month for reading. I read 6 books in May. I guess you could say that I read 5 books, as the 6th one I just finished reading, but that’s if you want to get nit-picky 😀 Pictured are only three of those books, because we (me and BF) finally moved into the apartment we got in April and most of my books aren’t here with me (and we don’t have a bookshelf – BF doesn’t get why we need one or why I want my books with me. Argh! And there’s also the slight problem of not enough space – the stupid old couch is messing everything up!). And also because some of them (Vampire Academy, mainly) are Sis’ books. So there’s some book hauling here and there between my place and Mom’s&Sis’.

Anyway, back to the read books. I finally got on my Kindle and finished a book! It’s not much ,but it’s progress, lol. I finished A Reaper of Stone by Mark Gelineau and Joe King. It was somewhat interesting, but mostly meh.

Then comes my most anticipated read of May – A Court of Mist and Fury by S. J. Maas. Oh God! I feel so conflicted about this book. It’s like I have some sort of love-hate relationship with it. Just, gah! Hopefully, I’ll get myself together soon enough and write about my conflicting feelings.

I also read Legend and Prodigy by Marie Lu, which were on my May TBR. Vampire Academy series was also somewhat on my May TBR and from that series I read the Latvian translations of Vampire Academy and Frostbite by Richelle Mead.

Post-wise May sucked for me, but, oh well. Shame on me, too. (Don’t forge the ‘ding, ding!’) 😀

May Book Haul

Somehow, we’ve managed to get quite a few books in May. Look at this nice pile!

bought-in-may2016

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater
The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater
Stolen Songbird by Danielle L. Jensen
A Court of Mist and Fury by S. J. Maas
Mythago Wood by Robert Holdstock
The Selection by Kiera Cass
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

The last four are Latvian translations of the books. On European Museum Night, the largest publishing house in Latvia (I think it’s the largest, lol. Well, it’s definitely one of the largest then) offers discounts at its bookstores, and we decided to check what’s there. Went away with four books. Dita got Mythago Wood and The Name of the Wind, while Paula took with her Gone Girl and The Selection. Not that it matters who got which books, I mean, we do share them. 😀

And, in a very typical Dita fashion (now that she has a Kindle), some Kindle books were bought in May as well.

Green by N. A. Jones
Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo – still can be bought for a dollar on Amazon
Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo – still can be bought for a dollar on Amazon
Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo – still can be bought for a dollar on Amazon
The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson – still can be bought for 1.99 on Amazon
The Cage by Megan Shepherd
Angelfall by Susan Ee
Pines by Blake Crouch

Sis’ TBR

DSCN1232I guess this is my TBR. 😀 Quite small. 😀 There is The Elite by Kiera Cass and Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. Actually, I just finished The Elite. 😀 Probably I will read more, but now I don’t know what.

Dita’s TBR

Dita-June2016-TBR.jpg
I couldn’t keep myself from showing off the two Book Depository bookmarks I’ve finally managed to colour. Now just have to get to the other ones I have. 😀

So my June TBR is sort of small. I don’t really know what I feel like reading. But I’m sure I want to go through The Raven Cycle, so that’s my TBR. And probably I’ll read something else, too. We’ll see what I feel like. Hopefully, it’ll include a Kindle book or two. I just can’t stop amassing those, lol. Is that an addiction? 😀

Speak up

