Monthly Wrap-Up: August 2016

Read in August: Sis

Read-in-Aug2016-P

Not a particularly good month in reading. Only two books. 😦 I hope that September will be better, though school has started and there won’t be so much time for reading. But back to August. I read The Last Star by Rick Yancey (the ending was heartbreaking) and City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare. I also hope that this or next Wednesday I will be back with The Sis Reviews.

Read in August: Dita

read-in-Aug2016-Dita

August definitely turned out better than July. I mean, I finished no books during July, while August has crossed 5 books off my TBR. Woot! I finished:

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani
A World Without Princes by Soman Chainani
The Last Ever After by Soman Chainani
Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

I also hoped to finished The Assassin’s Blade by S. J. Mass in August (because it would’ve fit a prompt in the Summer edition of Bookish Bingo), but I didn’t quite managed that. I finished the book, but already in September. Oh well.

August Book Haul

August saw an influx of books for Sis, while I got two new physical books, therefore we’ll have two hauls. Mine and Sis’.

Dita

Aug2016-haul-Dita

My pre-order of Nevernight by Jay Kristoff arrived this month (duh, August was the release month). And I also got a late birthday gift from Sis – Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith. Well, Sis is still faster than BF, who still hasn’t gotten me (or at least given) a birthday gift. Mind you, the birthday was at the end of June… So, it’s all slightly saddening. Except for Sis’ gift, which actually made me laugh out loud. I mean, I knew she was getting me a book, I just totally didn’t expect it to be this one. And, you know, supposedly, it is the deluxe heirloom edition, with more zombies and blood. At least that’s what it said on the back cover sticker. It has illustrations, too! It’s a hilarious and very nice gift. Thanks, Sis!

Of course, no monthly book haul is complete without some Kindle books.
The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson – 2.99 on Amazon
Talon by Julie Kagawa – 1.99 on Amazon
Wicked White by Michelle A. Valentine – 0.99 on Amazon

(all Amazon prices were checked today, 5th Sept. 2016, although I can’t guarantee they’re the same in your region. Mine, for example, are actually a tad higher, you know, taxes applied to the price)

Sis

Augusts2016-haul-P

Well, well, well, guess who regrets nothing? Me!!! I spent 100+ Euro on books. So here you can see The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson, The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore. It totally doesn’t match my I Am Number Four book. Argghhh!! City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare. And here comes the “fun” part. This book needs to match the fifth book, City of Lost Souls,  which I also bought, but it doesn’t. They, the Book Depository, sent me the wrong book. I e-mailed them and, long story short, they gave the money back and the book stayed with me. 🙂 Then there is The Last Star by Rick Yancey, The Heir by Kiera Cass and The Hollow City by Ransom Riggs. I also ordered The Crown by Kiera Cass, but I still haven’t received it. 😦

Sis’ September TBR

I guess I’ll be reading all the books in my haul which I haven’t finished yet. And I still have to read some 19th century book for school. 😦

Dita’s September TBR

Sept2016-TBR-Dita.jpg

My tentative TBR for September includes four books, one of which would be a reread (Cinder). For some reason, I just really feel like rereading The Lunar Chronicles, so I might actually do it. Also on my TBR is Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, as well as Mythago Wood by Robert Holdstock and Heir of Fire by S. J. Maas (if I gather the courage to actually get into it). A book that is not pictured, but might be on my TBR is The Last Star by Rick Yancey, which is Sis’ book, so obviously I don’t have it on hand, but I do want to read it. And Sis has expressed her wish for me to read it, so she can gush about it without fear of spoilers. As always, it would also be great to read a book that’s on my Kindle, since I just keep acquiring them (who can resist those daily and monthly deals when they actually have something good?), but we’ll see how well that goes this month. 😀

How was your August? 🙂

 

Speak up

