The Sis Reviews: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

DSCN1424I want to hug him (Ernest Cline) and, at the same time, punch him. This book… just WOW. I got this book for Dita’s birthday last year, I guess. Or maybe something else. Don’t remember. 😀 Anyway some time ago I read the first two chapters and I guess wasn’t dragged into it, so I just gave up for a while. But now I decided to give it a try. And I wasn’t disappointed.

It’s year 2044 and the world is dying. Everyone is living their lives in a simulation game called OASIS (Ontologically Anthropocentric Sensory Immersive Simulation). Then one day James Halliday (the creator of OASIS) dies and leaves a message saying that the first person who will solve the riddles he left in the game will gain the control over OASIS and become rich. So all the world started The Hunt for Halliday’s prize.

Basically I looved this book. I liked how it showed the virtual world. It shows how serious addiction can get.

“I had no hair to wash, because the shower also dispensed a nontoxic hair-removing solution that I rubbed all over my face and body. This eliminated the need for me to shave or cut my hair, both hassles I didn’t need. Having smooth skin also helped make sure my haptic suit fit snugly.”

Also that you can’t know who your friends are. If you have read this book, then you know what I’m talking about. I was surprised that someone actually got killed, like seriously killed. BOOM! Somehow this book reminds me of Erebos by Ursula Poznanski.

The only problem was, okay I can’t really call it a problem, sometimes the references of some games, music annoyed me, because I don’t know them. But that definitely didn’t ruin the book for me. 🙂

And that Shaptic UberBetty, masturbating part. 😳 Umm funny and, yeah, awkward/uncomfortable for me. 😀

The ending was argh!!! – what happens next? What happens between Wade and Art3mis? And the most important question – does he use the Big Red Button? Because I would.

Oh I read that there is going to be a movie. It will be directed by Steven Spielberg so I think it should be good. Also I’m thinking how the movie will be made, cause there is real world and virtual one and… I just hope it’s going to be good. The movie will premiere in 2018. TWO freaking years!😖

Ready Player One gets five nuts.

5nuts

Have you read this book? Would you press The Button?

One thought on “The Sis Reviews: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

  1. Ready Player One is one of my favourite books – one of the few books I have read more than once. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the movie isn’t going to be dreadful, but having seen the leaked excerpts of the script, I’m not holding out much hope.

    Liked by 1 person

Speak up

