Monthly Wrap-Up: April & May 2017

April

Read in April: Sis

DSCN1633April was quite a good month for reading. I finished five books – Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by Newt Scamander (J.K. Rowling), Ink by Alice Broadway, The Young Elites by Marie Lu, Waking Gods by Sylvain Neuvel and You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) by Felicia Day. I also re-read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling.

Read in April: Dita

read-in-Apr2017-D

April was an average month for reading. I finished three books.

Waking Gods by Sylvain Neuvel
The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon
This Savage Song by V. E. Schwab

Even though the month was average, you could say it was musical… or filled with songs… or something that actually sounds like a cool pun regarding the ‘song’ in two of the books read.

I might also add that I did not accomplish my April TBR goal which was reading 4 books, preferably (at least) one on Kindle. Oh well. Better luck in May! Haha. Keep on reading to see how May turned out.

April Book Haul

Dita

haul-April2017-D

Not a bad month for book hoarding, huh? 8 new books. How did that happen? Well, I finally received my The Song Rising Collector’s Edition, as well got my first Amazon order. A March pre-order (that arrived in April), an April pre-order and an impulse buy (when you see A Dance with Dragons as one book instead of two, it is very hard to pass up the opportunity).

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
Waking Gods by Sylvain Neuvel
The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon
This Savage Song by V. E. Schwab
Playing with Fire by Derek Landy
Heartless by Marissa Meyer
The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury
A Dance with Dragons by George R. R. Martin

Oh, I also bought (only!) two Kindle books.
The Andromeda Project: FULL COLOR by Jason Primrose
The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

Sis

DSCN1618

In April I finally received my books from TBD. And those books are:

May

Read in May: Sis

DSCN1624

A sad month in reading. 😦 I have only read one book and that is Tikšanās laikā by Elizabete Eglīte. For Latvian blog readers (if there are any :D) you can go see my Goodreads review here.

Read in May: Dita

So here’s my “maybe next month will be better”. Yeah. Nope. It’s the same. At least it’s not worse, I guess. What can I say? Reading ACOWAR is really a b*. And, also, life.

read-in-May2017-D

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
Wires & Nerve, Volume 1 by Marissa Meyer
You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) by Felicia Day

As you can see, another month with three read books and an unfulfilled goal of at least 4 books, from which at least one is a Kindle book. But, hey, one of the books was an audiobook that I’ve been occasionally listening to since the Summer of last year. Yay for that! Better luck next month? 😀

May Book Haul

Dita

If you thought my April haul was excessive, you might want to avert your eyes. I might have slipped this month or something.

haul-May2017-D
Sooo… That happened… Ooops?

Tikšanās laikā by Elizabete Eglīte
A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas
Kaķa lāsts by Linda Nemiera
Kaķis maisā by Linda Nemiera
Kaķa koncerts by Linda Nemiera
Cinder by Marissa Meyer – LV translation
Half a King by Joe Abercrombie – LV translation
Mirušie nepiedod by Ieva Melgalve
Half Bad by Sally Green – LV translation
Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – LV translation
Wires & Nerve, Volume 1 by Marissa Meyer
Pasakas par ziediem by Anna Sakse
A Court of Thorns and Roses Colouring Book

Let’s see. 12 books and a bookish colouring book. Well, in my defense, one of the books was extremely cheap – Night Circus. Two were pre-orders – ACOWAR and the colouring book. One was half-priced even though it just got released – Latvian translation of Cinder. If you went to the publisher’s bookstore in red shoes, you got the book for half it’s price. They also had a thing that if you posted a picture of your new book and red shoes, you could win another book. Well, I did that, and I was the Instragram winner (if you follow me on IG, maybe you noticed my pile of TLC books accompanied by red sneakers). Therefore one of the 12 books is a free one – Kaķa lāsts (which turned out to be book 3 in a series, oh well). Then there’s Wires & Nerve, which I asked BF to buy if he saw it while in the US (it was cheaper there than on TBD). And that leaves seven more books. Well, May 20 was European Museum Night and book-seller/publishing house Zvaigzne had a deals night in honor of that, as has been their tradition the past couple of years. Basically, most of their books were 50% off. How can you pass that up? It’s like the books are screaming for you to take them home. Obviously I went to the bookstore. What is even more obvious – I did not come back empty-handed. I got some books by Latvian authors (including the first two books for the third-book-in-a-series I won) and Latvian translations of some books I’ve been interested in. So that’s my May book haul. Sorry, not sorry.

Oh, right. I also bought 5 Kindle books. Yay? Ooops? Something? More books!

The Immortal Circus: Act One by A. R. Kahler
The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova
Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson
The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye
Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

Nope, I have nothing to say in my defense besides the fact that I was obviously in a book hoarding mood this month even without realizing that.

Sis’ June TBR

I really want to finish Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, but in the past month I have been in a weird reading slump (again 😦 ). It would be great if I could finally finish some of the four books I have been reading since February (?). Okay, last August I started reading Lady Midnight, but oh well…😅 that book is so annoying. So my goal will be to finish Night Circus and one or more of these books:

Dita’s June TBR

Since I’m falling behind on my Goodreads challenge schedule, my goal for June is reading (at least) 6 books and hopefully at least one of them will be a Kindle book. Yes, I keep hoping to decrease the amount of unread Kindle books, but the pile just keeps growing. Just like the amount of unread physical books I have. Thanks, May!

First order of business is finishing ACOWAR. I have less than 200 pages left, but it’s so hard to bring myself to finish them. And, no, it is not because I don’t want to say goodbye to the world and the characters (and their wingspans!). THAT is exactly what I want. But it just won’t end!

I’m also in the middle (well, more like beginning) of two or three other books, so it would be nice to finish at least one of those. Don’t know how that will turn out, but let’s hope for the best.

Sorry for the long walls of text. I just really felt like talking (typing?).

How was your May? What is on your June TBR? Have you had a slip at a bookstore?

Speak up

